Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 29th, 2009

My husband, who makes about $2500 a year, had an opportunity to work on Friday – or at least get a new project going.  Well, he never showed.  He chatted with me a little in the morning, but by early afternoon, he’d disappeared from the Google Chat and that was that.  I called, thinking maybe he was getting dressed or possibly late to catch the bus.  I didn’t get an answer until after I was back at my friend’s house after work.

He was definitely drunk and I was probably cussing at him; I don’t even remember anymore.  I had plans to go to dinner and a movie with another friend and he’d called me before I was leaving to go out.  Against my best judgment, I picked up some cigarettes for him, because I was thinking at least if he had them, he might not sell my stuff.

I had him meet me in front of the house.  I pulled up with the doors locked and the window open only wide enough to fit the cigarette box through.  He wanted in the passenger side.  I told him no – to come around, and then I handed him his cigarettes.  He took them, but was also asking for money to “help” him through the night.  I refused and tried to pull away from him but his hand was now inside my window a little bit.  I kept trying to inch away, and he was angry.  Finally I screamed “Let go!” and drove away.  In my rear view mirror I saw him hit / punch my trunk.  Thanks.

I went to dinner and ignored him the rest of the night.  I had to work job #2 today and attempted to call him on my way there, but he never answered.  Again, on my break I got no answer.  On my way home, I called probably a dozen times during the hour or so drive and nothing.  I’d started to let the voices in that tell me he could be dead or in a diabetic coma.  I try not to listen to them, but when I hear them, they really do sound completely valid.  I decided that I would go pick up cat food (I knew he needed that) and I would just go upstairs and see what was going on.

Thankfully, I didn’t have to go up there.  He called me as I was pulling into the store.  A huge wave of relief and rage swept over me.  On one hand, I was happy he wasn’t dead, but on the other hand,  I was furious that he was OK and still completely wasted.  I told him I’d be bringing the cat food by and that I’d like him to come pick it up.  He agreed.

When I pulled up and he came around the corner, it was embarrassing to even look at him.  He looks horrible.  He looks dirty; bloated and he probably smells, too.  I handed him the cat food and it’s obvious he’s been drinking all day.  I am going to bet that at this point he’s probably sold my Xbox.

I feel so angry and desperate.  It’s not a good feeling at all.  What am I going to do?  This is a complete disaster and he is not going to change.  Ever.  When am I going to have the courage to finish this?

Read Full Post »